9 Followers
18 Following
willemite

willemite

Currently reading

Hieroglyph: Stories and Blueprints for a Better Future
Neal Stephenson
Ukraine: Zbig's Grand Chessboard & How the West Was Checkmated
Natylie Baldwin, Kermit D. Larson
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Paula Hawkins
Our Souls at Night: A novel
Kent Haruf
Above the Waterfall
Ron Rash
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
Stephen King
Designs on Film: A Century of Hollywood Art Direction
Cathy Whitlock
The Homicide Report: Understanding Murder in America
Jill Leovy
Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania
Erik Larson
The Gods of Mars
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Breathing Water: A Bangkok Thriller - Timothy Hallinan Hallinan returns us to the Bangkok of his hero, writer Poke Rafferty. This will be familiar territory for readers of A Nail Through the Heart and The Fourth Watcher, the prior two novels in this series. And if you have not yet read those, do so. In BW, Poke is up against not only one of the bigger bad guys on the local scene but the entire ruling class. We see both intentionally grotesque opulence with its accompanying violent edge and the lowest forms of child exploitation. Da is a young girl who is little more than a slave to the sociopaths who park her and hundreds like her on the streets of the city to beg. These are Fagins with no charm or scruples at all.

If the second book in the series was quite not up to the very high standard set by the first, Hallinan is back at the top of his form here. Fast-paced, riveting, the sort of book you hate to put down, Breathing Water adds considerable payload about Thai politics, mores, socioeconomic realities, and life. You will learn a fair bit and be thrillingly entertained.